jason kawaja <kawaja@ece.ufl.edu> wrote:
> >
> > hmm. Perhaps I am wrong - but it has been my perception that there are
> > those who block all dynamic IPs. We should let them speak up if they are
> > there.
>
> i do (at least i trust rbl lists that say they are blocking them). the
> rare cases of legitimate email blocked do not outweigh the effectiveness of
> blocking the many illegitimate mails. people can relay their originated
> dynamic deliveries through a server provided by their ISP or similar, it's
> not too much to ask.
Maybe where you come from. The last ISP I was with listed all of its
customers addresses as "dynamic", even when they weren't, and the mail server
they provided lost ~10% of all mail and regularly introduced 4-5 *day*
delivery delays to the rest.
ISP-provided mail servers have gotten significantly worse over the last ten
years, to the point that simply saying "relay through your ISP's smarthost" is
no longer good advice.
Charles
--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Cazabon <qmail@discworld.dyndns.org>
Read http://pyropus.ca/personal/writings/12-steps-to-qmail-list-bliss.html
My services include qmail consulting. See http://pyropus.ca/ for details.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
|