Qmail
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: dynamic ip: cold hard facts

To: qmail list <qmail@list.cr.yp.to>
Subject: Re: dynamic ip: cold hard facts
From: Sami Farin <safari-qmail@safari.iki.fi>
Date: Wed, 31 Jan 2007 18:23:26 +0200
Delivered-to: sp-com-lists@consult.net
Delivered-to: gmail-qmail@securepoint.com
Delivered-to: sp.com.list@gmail.com
Delivered-to: mailing list qmail@list.cr.yp.to
In-reply-to: <20070131153659.GA8836@discworld.dyndns.org>
Mail-followup-to: qmail list <qmail@list.cr.yp.to>
Mailing-list: contact qmail-help@list.cr.yp.to; run by ezmlm
References: <1170248320.6046.56.camel@tiger> <45C0969F.2060900@gatworks.com> <1170250777.6046.66.camel@tiger> <2E7086DF-58B3-4580-BEA9-E6E411A94E6D@ece.ufl.edu> <20070131144757.GA8507@discworld.dyndns.org> <34B604BB-32FD-47C7-962C-872031D32380@ece.ufl.edu> <20070131153659.GA8836@discworld.dyndns.org>
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.13 (2006-08-11)
On Wed, Jan 31, 2007 at 09:36:59 -0600, Charles Cazabon wrote:
...
>   -blocking mail based on the client being dynamically addressed blocks
>   legitimate mail

Sure... What's the ratio?  1:100000 (ham:spam)?

And of the daily 500000 new trojaned idiots added to
cbl.abuseat.org 99% are dynamic and/or generic
hostnames (or no DNS records whatsoever).

So, why bother with that kind of signal-to-noise ratio.

And even if U. George says he does not spam, I don't open my
inbox for *.east.verizon.net because every day ~8000
new idiots from *.east.verizon.net get trojaned and added
to CBL.

-- 

Attachment: pgppOM5wIW1lV.pgp
Description: PGP signature

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>